Mahbubnagar was formerly known as “Rukmammapet”, “Palamoor”. The name was changed to Mahbubnagar on 4 December 1890, in honour of Mir Mahbub Ali Khan Asaf Jah VI, the Nizam of Hyderabad (1869–1911 AD). During the Nizam era, the people of this area used to sell milk, so it was named as “Palamoor“.


The area that forms current Mahbubnagar district has held historic significance. The region was at the core of theSatavahana dynasty from 221 BC to 218 AD, and also a large part of the Chalukya dynasty from the 5th to the 11th century AD. The region was later part of the Kingdom of Golkonda (c. 1364 – 1512 AD), with its capital city Golkondalocated near Hyderabad.

In 1518 it came under control of the Qutb Shahi dynasty, which reigned until 1687. The region was then a part of Hyderabad State, ruled by the Asaf Jahi dynasty, from 1724 to 1948. Mahbubnagar was most likely an historically Buddhist area, as many historic temples were destroyed by the Asaf Jahi rulers. There are no Buddhist temples remaining, however.

Mahbubnagar district became independent along with Hyderabad and joined the democratic state of India on 18 September 1948.

The district is currently a part of the Red Corridor (known for naxal influence).


Mahbubnagar district occupies 18,432 square kilometres (7,117 sq mi), an area equivalent to Japan’s Shikoku Island. The district is located at 16°73′ N and 77°98′ E.


In 2006 the Indian government named Mahbubnagar one of the country’s 250 most backward districts (out of 640total).  It is one of the 9 districts in Telangana currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF).

Koilsagar project

Kollapur palace

Many Pre Historic sites of Mid Krishna-Tungabhadra Valley are present in Mahbubnagar district

Household indicators

From 2007–2008 the International Institute for Population Sciences interviewed 1186 households in 45 villages across the district.  They found that 89.9% had access to electricity, 98.8% had access to drinking water, 21.2% had access to toilet facilities and 50.7% lived in a pucca (permanent) home.  47% of girls wed before the legal age of 18[10] and 95% of interviewees carried a Below Poverty Line (BPL) card.


Religions in Palamooru district
Religion Percentage

According to the 2011 census Mahbubnagar district has a population of 4,042,191, roughly equal to that of Liberia or the US state of Oregon. This gives it a ranking of 55th most populous in India (out of 640). The district has a population density of 219 inhabitants per square kilometre (570/sq mi). Its population growth rate over the decade 2001–2011 was 15.03%. Mahbubnagar has a sex ratio of 975 females for every 1000 males and a literacy rate of 56.06%.

The primary languages spoken in the district are Telugu, Urdu, and Hindi.

Administrative divisions

Revenue divisions map of Mahbubnagar district

Mahbubnagar district mandals outline map

The district is divided into five Revenue divisions. They are Gadwal, Mahbubnagar, Nagarkurnool, Narayanpet andWanaparthy. These divisions are sub-divided into 64 mandals which has 1537 villages, 18 towns and 2 urban agglomerations. These 18 towns include, 4 statutory (3 municipalities and 1 nagar panchayat) and 14 census towns. The 3 municipalities in the district are Mahbubnagar, Gadwal and Wanaparthy. The only nagar panchayat is Narayanpet and the 14 census towns are, Achampet, Atmakur, Badepalle, Boyapalle, Chinnachintakunta, Farooqnagar,Jadcherla, Kalwakurthy, Kothakota, Kothur, Nagarkurnool, Tangapur, Vatwarlapalle, Yenugonda.


Mahbubnagar district has 14 assembly constituencies and two parliamentary constituencies.

Religious worships

Alampur is home to the Sri Sri Sri Jogulaamba temple, the fifth of the famous 18 Shakthi Peethas, and the Sri Bala Brahmeshwara Swamy (Lord Shiva) Temple. Mahbubnagr District has many important temples, dargas and churches:

  • Umamaheswaram is a famous Lord Shiva temple in Rangapur, Achampet. It is the northern gate of Srisailam.
  • Manyamkonda  is a Venkateswara Swami temple about 10 km. from Mahbubnagar town. It is also known as “Pedala (poor people) Tirupathi”.
  • Wanaparthy is erstwhile King’s Palace which stands at the center of the town now hosts the Krishna Devaraya Polytechnic College. Wanaparthy is a university town, being an educational and business center for the regional population.
  • Sri Sadguru Avadhuth Narasimha Swami Math is located in Narayanpet.


Mahbubnagar district falls under the jurisdiction of Osmania University and Palamuru University. The district has many government and private junior, undergraduate and graduate colleges.



Posted by Subhash Mangalam

Hi I am Subhash Mangalam. I am a Blogger. I am also a corporate Digital Marketing Trainer. I Train students, Working Professionals and Entrepreuers . I also Teach the Trciks of Earning Money Through Blogging, YouTube and Affiliate Marketing. You can Reach me @

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *